Twitter in an Uproar over Mute vs. Block Function

Posted by: Maxine Brimmer (2 years, 10 months ago)

A change made to Twitter’s account-blocking functions caused so much outrage from users across the social media site that there was no choice but to retract the change as quickly as it had appeared.

The change happened late last week, when Twitter made a change to its long-standing block function. For a long time, Twitter users could choose to tune out abuse by using the block feature, which completely prohibited an offensive user from interacting with or viewing your posts. The mistake on Twitter’s part came when the social media site changed this to what was essentially a “mute” feature, allowing abusers to once again follow, retweet and favorite previously blocked posts.

No more than a week since the change was made and things are already back to business as usual on the social media site; Twitter was so inundated with complaints that there was no choice but to revert to the old function. In a full statement released regarding the incident, Twitter stated that it would never be their intention to “introduce features at the cost of users feeling less safe.”

“We’ve built Twitter to help you create and share ideas and information instantly, without barriers. That vision must coexist with keeping users safe on the platform. We’ve been working diligently to strike this balance since Twitter’s inception, and we thank you for all of your support and feedback to date.”

← Valve's Steam Machine Console Released to Handful of Lucky Beta Testers Stephen Hawking's First Game Teaches Kids about Physics →

Process Library is the unique and indispensable process listing database since 2004 Now counting 140,000 processes and 55,000 DLLs. Join and subscribe now!

System Tools

PC Mechanic