In an announcement on Thursday, Facebook announced that it would be removing the privacy setting which allowed users to keep their profiles from appearing in a search.
The setting, called “Who can look up your Timeline by name?” has been removed from accounts since December of last year, and now Facebook is getting ready of kill the option for those profile which still make use of it. Basically, the setting allowed people to hide their profiles from the general public by controlling if they could be found (and who could find them) when their names were typed into the Facebook search bar.
According to Facebook, very few members still use the setting at all, and those users would be warned of the change in policy by notices on their accounts within the coming weeks. It will still be possible to block individual users from finding your profile.